Peace of mind

I had been an atheist for 15 years when I experienced a conversion. It was very sudden, as it always is. Though I’m not religious, I am a Christian. And what I would like to share today is that a genuine connection with God brings profound peace of mind – in God. It is wonderful and almost feels like magic powers.

Contrary to what a lot of people seem to think or expect, life doesn’t become easier though. There are still lots of tribulations. The difference is you know that is how it’s supposed to be and that brings you closer to God. You know that everything passes. You know that God gives us freedom and that He knows what’s best for us. Surrender is a key word here.

I often see people question the existence of God because of tribulations – allow me to break the news for you: you’re right, that God of bargain you thought you believed in indeed doesn’t exist. If you expect the God you believe in to rid you of tribulations, then yes, that God doesn’t exist. That God that doesn’t know better than you, a mere human full of flaws, definitely doesn’t exist.

Reality check: There’s no bargain with God (“I am such a good Christian, why am I going through so much tribulation?”). You don’t know better than God (“Why did God not stop that from happening to me?”). And you, much like a little kid, don’t know what’s best for you – your Father does. God does. And our Father is not imperfect like we are, He is in fact perfect. Trust is a keyword here.

I’ll leave you with a beautiful quote from Jesus – it sums up everything else I said above:

John 16:33 “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

