We can love everyone, but liking is a different story

There is no doubt that we love in imperfect ways, given that we are imperfect. Yet I have found that the deeper I connect with God, the more love I seem to have to give. And the more I open myself to loving everyone, the easier and the more powerful my love becomes. I am at a point where I genuinely feel love for everyone. This means I forgive everyone and accept the fact that we are all on the same boat: imperfect, full of flaws – in other words (Biblical words), we’re all ‘sinful’.

Liking, though, is a whole different story. Liking requires a character ‘match’. A sense of mutual agreement, identification, a strong sharing of values or at the very least getting along – peacefully.

There are people I love, but I absolutely will not seek their company.

There are people for whom I pray and I wish them well, but their company doesn’t do me good – so I avoid it.

There are people that I have forgiven and love, but that doesn’t mean I have to bring them back into my life.

There are very clear examples of relationships that simply don’t work out for a lack of compatibility. There’s no good reason to let people (back) into our lives to establish connections that are not edifying. It is very important for us to be aware of what, or who, edifies us:

“All things are lawful, but not all things are profitable. All things are lawful, but not all things edify.” – Corinthians 10:23

