Mocking hurts. Loving empowers.

Do you think you are justified to mock people that you, or the public opinion, consider “bad”? Think again. There is certainly no fault in being cautious or staying well-informed about other people’s actions and behavior that might be harmful to others, but mocking them definitely doesn’t put you in a much better position than those “bad” people that you are aiming at:

Psalm 1: “Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, 2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night. “

The truth is that it feels so infinitely better to not mock anyone. To evoke compassion for each and every person around us. And to forgive them. Yes, we can still dislike people’s actions, but it is extremely important to save our energy and invest it in forgiveness. 

I find it increasingly difficult to hear mockery of any type. The reason why is because I think we’re all susceptible to it – and it genuinely hurts both to be the one mocking and the one being mocked. It’s a way of inflicting pain in one another that we don’t fully acknowledge until we see concrete damage done. 

I don’t wish to hurt anyone, even though I realize I still do even without wanting to. And I don’t wish to be hurt either, even though I am not immune to it. So how do I stop that? Simple: by stopping the vicious cycle, by not sitting in the company of mockerers. 

Let’s not be the ones starting the mockery. And let’s not be the ones passing it on. Infuse your intellect with love and you’ll see how much easier it becomes.

Corinthians 1 13-1: “If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.”

