No center, no balance

There is a basic principle in physics called center of gravity that accounts for balance. The position of this “center” is not always actually a “center”, since it relates to mass. The more complex the object, the harder it is to identify its center of gravity.

And why am I bringing this up here? Because I am confident that whoever doesn’t identify the right “center of gravity” for his life, will not find balance. 

Most of my life I had people, places and even ideas as my “center of gravity”. That never brought me balance. Obviously we’re all imperfect in an imperfect world, so once there is a failure, our pseudo-balance collapses along with it.

I have found genuine balance in my reconnection with God. And from that “center of gravity”, I have been able to extend balance to my life as a whole. The secret to finding that is acknowledging that you have no balance and asking for help. Again it feels like stepping into the abyss, but once you take that first step, the path is there and all you have to do is follow it. 

